RSS Feed

The Fate of the Pay Phone

Posted on

In a time where cell phones and smart phones dominate, the traditional pay phone is nearly extinct. When you do cross paths with this endangered species, it’s often in a horrible state of disrepair.

California artist Lorna Watt, a.k.a. Knits for Life, comments on the fate of the pay phone in this yarn bomb.  Completed in February 2013, her installation breathes new life into a tired remnant.  You can read more about it here.

On another note, Lorna’s also looking for people to help her with the next San Mateo yarn bomb.  Additional details available here.

2 responses »

  1. Hey! Thanks for posting about my yarn bomb. The story gets even funnier: about a month after this went up the editor of my local paper emailed me a picture someone sent him of a guy wearing my this yarn bomb in a bar. I had just seen it was gone when I saw his message–I barely had any time to wonder what had happened to it! I decided it had kind of a James Dean life, which is satisfying. Plus, it made room for more yarn bombs in town!

    Reply
  2. Holly Pinkston

    This is steller! You definitely know how to keep a reader entertained.
    Fantastic job. I really loved what you had to say, and more than
    that, how you presented it. Too cool!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

