RSS Feed

Stitch ‘n Bitch

What do you like to do? All the time people ask about hobbies, but when you answer that you’re a knitter, their response is usually silence. Why don’t people find this interesting? How come yarn isn’t as conversation-worthy as running or playing tennis?

In the 1960’s and 1970’s feminists rejected knitting and other crafts because of their historical link to women. They tried to forge a new identity by setting themselves apart from these kinds of traditions. For many years following this, it became the hobby of old people.

More recently, we’ve seen something of a knitting resurgence. In 1999, Debbie Stoller started the first Stitch ‘n Bitch in New York, and in 2003 she published “Stitch ‘n Bitch: The Knitter’s Handbook.” By 2004, there were spin-off groups in Chicago and Los Angeles. Today, there are more than 1,300 Stitch ‘n Bitch groups around the globe.

Knitting is “something that women have traditionally done and I went on a mission to take it back,” says Stoller in a recent interview with BBC. It is a difficult craft to master, and it has played a significant role in society. She goes on to say that “In the same way that fishing is not just about getting something to eat, knitting is not just about making something to wear.”

Well Debbie, I happen to agree.  Of Course until society realizes what we YARN-A-HOLICS already have,  people are most welcome to stop by here to ‘bitch’.

6 responses »

  1. Hi from etsy! Great post–whenever I tell people that’s what I do in my spare time, I tend to receive a dead-pan silence.
    Why shouldn’t we enjoy the yarn arts?

    Reply
  2. Your style is so unique in comparison to other people I’ve read stuff from. Thank you for posting when you have the opportunity. I’ll just bookmark this page.

    Reply
  3. McKenzie Arellano

    Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this blog. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s tough to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appeal. I must say you have done a excellent job with this. Also, the blog loads super quick for me on Opera. Excellent Blog!

    Reply
  4. Thanks for finally writing about >Stitch �n Bitch �; Loved it!

    Reply
  5. Valencia McWilliams

    Very good information. Lucky me I came across your blog by accident (stumbleupon).
    I’ve saved it for later!

    Reply
  6. Generally I do not read article on blogs, but I your writing style surprised me. Thank you,
    very nice article.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

