RSS Feed

8 Things You Probably Didn’t Know About JustifiablyJulia.Etsy.com

Our latest featured Etsy Yarn-a-Holics team member is Julia of JustifiablyJulia.Etsy.com

Julia makes yarn from reclaimed sweaters, saving the world one sweater at a time!

Purple Mohair Reclaimed Yarn

1. When did you open your Etsy shop?

Julia: I opened my Etsy shop in November of 2010 but didn’t really get started till 2011.

2. When did you first become interested in Fiber?

Julia: I’ve been a fiber junkie as long as I can remember, I come from a family of crafters!

3. Do you do any knitting/crocheting with the up-cycled yarns you make?

Julia: I knit and crochet with my up-cycled yarn but my skill level is limited (mostly to scarves!). My twin sister, however (SharpCrayon.Etsy.com) makes beautiful items from my reclaimed yarn!

~ Craftyness really does run in the family!

4. What are some of your hobbies/interests?

Julia: I love knitting, crocheting, quilting, cross-stitching, sewing, cooking and reading! Some of my most relaxing days are spent organizing my craft shelves and destroying sweaters.
Bright Blue Reclaimed Wool yarn

5. What are your favorite fibers to work with?

Julia: I love working with alpaca and cashmere! The feel of luxurious yarn running through your fingers is a feeling that can’t be duplicated!

6. What is your shop name all about?

Julia: My shop was originally started to justify my crafting expenses while I was in college (if I sold some of the yarn from pulling apart sweaters I could both craft and eat!)

7. What made you take that step to go from a finished sweater, back to it’s start as a ball of yarn?

Julia: I first began reclaiming yarn because I found this gorgeous sweater with a hole in it at Goodwill and thought there has got to be a was to go from sweater to yarn… After a few trial and errors I began destructing sweaters to beautiful yarn and a couple of months later, realized I enjoyed taking apart sweaters more than creating something new!

8. Where else on the web can we find you?

Julia has a blog at

http://justifiablyjulia.wordpress.com/
Snowflake mohair reclaimed yarn

Leave a Reply

