RSS Feed

8 Things You Probably Didn’t Know About BlushingEwe.Etsy.com …

We will be doing a weekly feature of shops from the Etsy Yarn-a-holics team.  Our first feature is a fiber shop, with lovely handspun yarn, batts for spinning and some fabulous woven items too.

BlushingEwe.Etsy.com is a one woman fiber operation run by Lori of Topeka, Kansas.

1.  When did you open your shop on Etsy?

Lori:  I opened BlushingEwe.Etsy.com on November 18, 2009

2. Where can we find you other than Etsy?

Lori: I am on Twitter @Blushing_Ewe .  I am also on Ravelry as Blushingewe and I just started a blog blushingewescolorfulworld.blogspot.com/ I am currently having a contest on my blog to win a 4month batt club subscription!

* You hear that folks?  YOU have a chance to win some awesome fiber batts for spinning!  So when you’re done here, go scope out Blushing Ewe’s blog and enter.

3. When did you become interested in fiber?

 Lori: I have been interested in fiber most of my life. My grandmother taught me to crochet at age 5. I also love weaving,  I got a new loom for Christmas this year and I will be adding more woven items to my shop this year. I love working with fibers from raw to yarn and making lovely things from my handspun is a real pleasure.

4.  What method do you use for spinning, hand spindle or spinning wheel?

Lori: I started spinning with spindles and I still love my spindles, especially support spindles. I do have a Majacraft Alpaca Wheel that is my main production spinner. I use my spindles still when I am traveling or just need to unwind while watching tv or the kids at the park.


http://www.etsy.com/listing/85547025/handspun-thick-n-thin-mermaid-hair

5. When did you start spinning?

Lori:  I have been interested in fiber most of my life.  I became interested in handspun yarn 6 years ago when I was pregnant with my 3rd child.  I started spinning soon after she was born.

6.  Is Etsy the only place you sell your creations?

Lori: I do fiber shows when I can. I did Winter Wool Fest in Wamego this past weekend. There aren’t a lot of fiber show around here so it is really big deal when we have one.

* Fiber show?!?   Sounds like a wonderful place where I would spend lots of money.  😉

7. Do you have a crafty family?

Lori: I am the most crafty person in the family. I crochet, weave, dye, and just love creating. My oldest daughter who is 15 years old is an artist in a more traditional sense, as she loves to draw with ink and pencil. My 9 year old and 6 year old both love painting .  My 6 year old daughter is more in to fiber and yarn than the others, she has tried spinning before, but  is not dedicated to it yet , but I bet she will try again. My youngest is 3 years old, so I am not real sure about his artistic abilites yet. 🙂

I think I get most of my artistic and craftiness from my grandmothers. My mother is not into it. My grandmother was a crocheter and we have many afghans to prove it. My great grandmother spun and processed her own cotton, I have her cotton cards. In her memory I have started learning to spin cotton, it is a very different process from spinning wool but it is fun.

8. Do you have your own fiber flock?

Lori: . I would love someday to have my own flock, I would include some angora goats, alpaca, and Merino sheep as these are my favorite fibers.

I really enjoyed interviewing Lori.  It’s nice to get to know the artist you’re supporting on Etsy.  I learned that family is very important to Lori, and that most of the profits she makes selling her gorgeous yarns she invests right back into her business on new fibers, better equipment, and hopefully someday a flock of goats and sheep to call her own.

Heres a little more eye candy for you from her shop just in time for Valentine’s Day.

Check back next week for another featured Etsy shop!

And as always we encourage you to come join us!  Both Etsy sellers and buyers are welcome on our team.

~Phoebe

Leave a Reply

